NFL Referee Bill Vinovich Comments on the Infamous NFC Championship No-Call

In Sunday’s NFC Championship matchup between the New Orleans Saints and the Los Angeles Rams, referees missed one of the most blatant calls of all time. Rams’ cornerback Nickell Robert-Coleman obliterated Saints’ wide receiver Tommylee Lewis, hitting him helmet-to-helmet before Lewis could even look for the football. This missed call cost the Saints a possible Super Bowl 53 berth as they could’ve run the clock down to about four seconds as they could’ve attempted a game-winning field goal. Instead, the Saints settled for a field goal, ultimately losing in overtime to the Rams.

When New Orleans Times-Picayune reporter Amie Just asked NFL referee Bill Vinovich about the now infamous no-call, Vinovich responded by saying, “It was a judgment call by the covering official. I personally have not seen the play”.

Just then asked Vinovich about whether or not the timing in the game had an impact on the no-call. Vinovich responded, “Absolutely not”.

The infamous no-call will be a haunting memory for the Who Dat Nation which may never heal. The Saints’ organization will undoubtedly use this as ammunition to return next season with the intentions of winning it all.

Be sure to follow me on Twitter: @a_forsythe1020
Also follow Gumbo Sports on Twitter: @GumboSports

Main Credit Image: Embed from Getty Images


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s